Literacy Evening

On Thursday 3rd March the Eastwood Academy held a literacy evening for the year 7 students within the school. The main objective of the evening was to tell parents about what is happening within the English department and what parents can do to help their children either by working with them at home or persuading them to join in with the activities within the department. Many of the parents were taught the main reason for literacy, which covers all the subjects within the academy- we use it for teaching, learning and developing thinking, so it is at the heart of teaching and learning, whether  developing skills to express, explore or communicate our thoughts, ideas and feelings with others. After the presentations, everyone was set a task to come up with a descriptive piece incorporating many language techniques, such as: metaphors and repetition, to engage the audience.  Students were selected for the evening (between year 9 – year 11) to help out and were sent round to assist those with the task in hand. The best pieces were judged at the end with those who won winning a book and an Easter egg.

LE2

It was a successful event with many parents giving a good response to the evening, learning how they can help their child grow and help the Eastwood Academy in helping their children reach their full potential. One of the parents I interviewed said, “The evening was a great way of letting me comprehend the literacy standards within the Eastwood Academy and how my child is being pushed to achieve the grades she is capable of, which I feel is really important to have in a school otherwise my child wouldn’t be able to achieve the high grades that she accomplishes now. I obtained great information about how I can challenge my child and what is happening in the English community within the school. I feel the evening was really worthwhile, and I believe this could benefit other years within the school – not just year 7- and I thank the school for allowing me to be part of this useful and developing evening.”

One of the year 7 students who went to the evening exclaimed, “The evening was great fun as I got to write creative stories and build on my knowledge on how to make my work better, but most of all, I liked the evening because I won a book and I got an Easter egg to share with my mum. I feel these types of evenings and activities would be beneficial for many year 7 pupils and others within the school. I hope I can win more books and chocolate in future activities.”

LE1

Overall the evening was a great way to help parents have further knowledge on what is happening within the English department and how they are helping their child to succeed.

2 thoughts on “Literacy Evening

  1. Having been in attendance at the Literacy evening, this is a good reflection of the event. Well done.

    Like

  2. This looks like it was a good evening with lots of ‘positives’!!

    Like

Leave a comment